On The Rise

NBA announces first ever Social Media Awards

NBA announces first ever Social Media Awards

  • Screen shot 2012 06 21 at 11.21.26 am 269x300
  • The NBA held it's first ever Social Media Awards on Wednesday night, honoring teams, players and individual plays in 12 categories. The awards were hosted by former players Shaquille O'neal and Rick Fox. The awards were presented to the most social plays, moments, players and teams from around the league during the 2011-12 season.

    Four of the categories were video-based, won by plays or individual player performances, and included the following: Social Slam Award, The EPIC Award, The LOL Award and finally what appears to be the best play of the year category, The "Got Game" Award, which was presented to Master of the Dunking Arts, Blake Griffin of the LA Clippers.

    Check out Griffin's winning play:

  • The Snap Shot Award features photos of players and their various off-the court shenanigans. The Triple Threat Award also awarded basketball commentators, and was one by O'neal.

    The LA Lakers led the pack in the final six award categories, snatching up three wins:
    #TRENDSETTER: Kobe Bryant
    The FanNation Award: LA Clippers
    The BIG Award: Jared Dudley
    The FTW Award: Kevin Durant against Dallas
    Social MVT: Los Angeles Lakers
    The Thumps Up Award: Kobe Bryant

    To view all the nominees and winning videos and photos, visit NBA.com.

Comment with Facebook

Popular Now