Should The NHL Allow Headbutt Goals?

URL copied to clipboard.
  • My Anaheim Ducks are trending! But not for the reason I want!

    Let me translate what happens here for the layperson:

    Hockey is a sport played by a surprising number of Americans. Or, uh, a surprising number of people from Canada, Finland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine and Russia play ice hockey professionally in the United States. It’s basically like soccer but smaller and on ice and it’s actually somewhat interesting.

    The Anaheim Ducks are a team that started in the early 1990s as the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim based off that movie but now they’re just the Anaheim Ducks and are actually quite good so just shut up already.

    The Ducks and the Blackhawks are playing in the Western Conference Finals, and the winner of this series will face the winner of the series between the New York Rangers and Tampa Bay Lightning in the Stanley Cup Finals.

    Last night was Game Two of this series. Chicago Blackhawks forward Andrew Shaw thought he had the game winning goal in double overtime when he bonked the puck off of his head, past ducks goalie Frederik Andersen, and into the goal.

    Rule 78.5 in the official NHL rule book, however, states that “apparent goals shall be disallowed when the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.”

    The Blackhawks would go on to win the game in the third overtime, tying the series at one game apiece, with game three set for tomorrow night.

    The point is that ice hockey is alive and well in southern California and even though I live in Los Angeles and have disowned nearly everything else about my hometown of Irvine, California, I still love the Ducks and you can all go to heck go right to heck!

More headlines