Sia Files Name Change Before 10th Studio Album ‘Reasonable Woman’

URL copied to clipboard.
Reasonable Woman artwork - Sia

Sia, the Australian singer, has decided to legally change her name from Sia Furler to Sia Bernad, marking a significant step one year after marrying her second husband, Dan Bernad, at Dolce & Gabbana’s Villa Olivetta in Portofino, Italy, with just four guests in attendance.

According to court documents obtained by TMZ, Sia’s attorney filed the name change request on Thursday, one day ahead of her first album in 8 years, “Reasonable Woman.”

Sia and Dan, whose relationship began in December 2021, are approaching their first wedding anniversary, which is expected to be next Monday or Tuesday. The exact date of their private ceremony hasn’t been disclosed.

Before meeting Bernad, Sia declared in a February 2020 interview with GQ that she had resolved to remain single for life following her 2017 divorce from Erik Anders Lang after just two years of marriage. In 2019, she legally adopted two 18-year-old men who had aged out of foster care, and one of them has since become a father of twins, making Sia a grandmother of two.

The news of the name change comes amidst a year of transformation for the pop star who is usually hidden behind wigs. In a tweet on December 10th, Sia revealed that she underwent liposuction to manage weight gained from medication she had been taking.

She stated, “Please know that I am so lucky to have the resources to change the way I look, and when you see me looking different again, I want you to know it did not come from diet and exercise. I want to be honest about all my procedures so I don’t contribute to the system that tells us we aren’t enough.”

Additionally, Sia disclosed undergoing an “amazing facelift” performed by plastic surgeon Dr. Ben Talei at the Fifth Daytime Beauty Awards in LA on October 1st. She praised Dr. Talei’s work and shared her satisfaction with the results.


Amidst these personal changes, Sia has also released her first solo album since 2016, “Reasonable Woman.” There is no artist like Sia, she has gone from an indie pop vocalist into a global pop superstar more than a decade into her career. The album features collaborations with notable artists such as Chaka Khan, Kylie Minogue, Labrinth, and Paris Hilton, delivering a collection of “feel-good” music that reflects Sia’s evolving music style.

Reasonable Woman track listing:

  1. Little Wing
  2. Immortal Queen (feat. Chaka Khan)
  3. Dance Alone (Sia and Kylie Minogue)
  4. I Had A Heart
  5. Gimme Love
  6. Nowhere To Be
  7. Towards The Sun
  8. Incredible (feat. Labrinth)
  9. Champion (feat. Tierra Whack, Kaliii, Jimmy Jolliff)
  10. I Forgive You
  11. Wanna Be Known
  12. One Night
  13. Fame Won’t Love You (feat. Paris Hilton)
  14. Go On
  15. Rock and Balloon

More headlines