Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Announced 2024 Inductees Including Cher, Jimmy Buffett, Dave Matthews and More

URL copied to clipboard.
Loading the player...

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame revealed the names of the artists inducted for 2024.

The list of 16 artists includes pop superstars Cher and Dionne Warwick, and even people like ’70s-rooted rockers like Peter Frampton, Foreigner and Ozzy Osbourne to ’90s icons the Dave Matthews Band, Mary J. Blige and A Tribe Called Quest.

Jimmy Buffett also is in the induction list, and he has never been on the list in the past.

The committee has put in the artist after his death seven months ago and took the liberty of ushering Buffett in via a separate, non-voted category, for “musical excellence.”

The category is also the side door in which the committee has gotten in other atists without being selected by voters, which also includes Warwick and MC5.

The group had been nominated six times without ever being voted in.

Kelly Osbourne, Ozzy Osbourne and Sharon Osbourne attend the after party for the special screening of Momentum Pictures' 'A Million Little Pieces' on December 04, 2019 in West Hollywood, California.
WEST HOLLYWOOD, CALIFORNIA – DECEMBER 04: Kelly Osbourne, Ozzy Osbourne and Sharon Osbourne attend the after party for the special screening of Momentum Pictures’ ‘A Million Little Pieces’ on December 04, 2019 in West Hollywood, California. (Photo by Emma McIntyre/Getty Images)

With the “musical excellence” classification, the Rock Hall finally took matters into its own hands in installing the influential 1960s quintet.


Following is the complete list of inductees for 2024:

Performer Category:

  • Mary J. Blige
  • Cher
  • Dave Matthews Band
  • Foreigner
  • Peter Frampton
  • Kool & The Gang
  • Ozzy Osbourne
  • A Tribe Called Quest

Musical Influence Award:

  • Alexis Korner
  • John Mayall
  • Big Mama Thornton

Musical Excellence Award:

  • Jimmy Buffett
  • MC5
  • Dionne Warwick
  • Norman Whitfield

Ahmet Ertegun Award:

  • Suzanne de Passe

The ‘performer’ inductees will be selected by a ballot sent out to the voters after the nominees were announced Feb 10.


Other nominees who will have to wait for another year include Mariah Carey, Jane’s Addiction, Sade, Sinead O’Connor, Oasis, Lenny Kravitz and the duo Eric B. and Rakim.

Just last December, in an appearance on “The Kelly Clarkson Show,” Cher said, “You know what, I wouldn’t be in it now if they gave me a million dollars … I’m never going to change my mind. They can just go you-know-what themselves.” At that point, though, she had never received so much as a nomination, so the odds favor her changing her tune on that vow, now that she got voted in her first time actually appearing on the ballot.

Five out of the eight voted in this year were first-time nominees: Osbourne, Cher, Frampton, Foreigner and Kool & the Gang.

Oasis did not make it in for the year, with many not surprised after the defunct group’s singer, Liam Gallagher, went out of his way to disparage the Hall as an institution after the nomination.

Osbourne becomes a second-time inductee this year; his group Black Sabbath was voted in all the way back in 2006.

Voters decided that Osbourne’s post-Sabbath career established him as one of rock’s major icons, even apart from his initial round of influence and success as a frontman.

Motown is also being celebrated with the induction of Whitfield, a songwriter and producer whose astonishing catalog of hits in the ’60s and ’70s included “I Heard It Through the Grapevine,” “Just My Imagination,” “Papa Was a Rollin’ Stone,” “War,” “Ball of Confusion,” “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg,” “(I Know) I’m Losing You,” “I Wish It Would Rain,” “I Can’t Get Next to You” and “Car Wash.” He died in 2008.

More headlines